AIM Excellence Awards winners in esteemed company

Queensland and the Northern Territory's best managers have been formally acknowledged at the 2013 Australian Institute of Management Excellence Awards.

Queensland Managers of the Year
L to R: Stephen Tait, Patricia O'Callaghan, Trevor Schwenke and Andrew Russell.

Held at Brisbane’s City Hall on Friday 8 November, the AIM Excellence Awards Queensland State Final ceremony is the pinnacle of management and the most prestigious awards of their kind in this state. The Awards featured four categories: Professional Manager of the Year, Owner Manager of the Year, Young Manager of the Year and Not for Profit Manager of the Year.

The Awards ceremony also featured the prestigious Medal for Management Innovation which was won by aged care ambassador Heather Hill. Mrs Hill is the Managing Director of Heather Hill Nursing Agency, a provider of Registered Nurses to residential aged care facilities throughout the greater Brisbane region.

Townsville’s Patricia O'Callaghan, General Manager of Tourism and Events at Townsville Enterprise Limited, impressed the judging panel with her final interview and was named the 2013 Young Manager of the Year while Conexus Consulting Director Andrew Russell was named Owner Manager of the Year.

Former media executive Stephen Tait, now Chief Executive Officer at CCIQ, was named the Not for Profit Manager of the Year while the Professional Manager of the Year category was taken out by Trevor Schwenke,  Director TAFE Reform at the Southern Queensland Institute of TAFE.

Revered Australian soldier Corporal Ben Roberts-Smith VC was the special guest and his insightful presentation on leadership and management and recollection of his heroic actions in Afghanistan that led to him being awarded the Victoria Cross left the 315 strong crowd in awe.

NT AIM Excellence Award winners
L to R: Allan Sommerville, Tracey Leo, Angela Brannelly and Debby Bell. (Not pictured: Ruth Leslie-Rose)

The Queensland ceremony followed the Norther Territory Awards which were held on Saturday 12 October at the Darwin Convention Centre.

The NT awards were taken out by Angela Brannelly, General Manager of the Katherine Hospital who won the Professional Manager of the Year - Public Sector. Tracey Leo, Business Development Manager at Humpty Doo Barramundi, was named Professional Manager of the Year in the Private Sector and the Not For Profit Manager of the Year award was won by Alzheimer’s Australia NT Inc Chief Executive Officer Ruth Leslie-Rose.

The NT Owner Manager of the Year was Debby Bell from Ella Bache Fannie Bay and the Young Manager of the Year award went to Allan Sommerville - Operations Manager at Vincent Aviation Australia Pty Ltd.

AIM Chair Grant Dearlove FAIM said the Excellence Awards were one of the Institute’s signature events and he congratulated all of the winners on their achievements.

“The AIM Excellence Awards have been won by some of Australia’s most successful managers and business leaders over the years and the 2013 winners should be very proud of what they have achieved – they are now in esteemed company,” Mr Dearlove said.

“At AIM we recognise that excellence in management is not confined to the major cities and I am both humbled to be in the same company as these outstanding managers.”

See photos from this year's AIM Excellence Awards regional finals and Queensland and Northern Territory Galas at our Facebook page.


Connect with AIM

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
YouTube Management Blog