Darwin next stop on YMAB region-serving itinerary

The Young Manager Advisory Board will make its first trip to the Northern Territory when it ventures to Darwin in May.

Ground-BREAKERS: AIM Chair Grant Dearlove FAIM, seated, with YMAB members from left Lia Finocchiaro AIMM, Stacey Young AIMM, Dan O'Brien AFAIM, Mike Boyd AFAIM, Selena Cartwright AFAIM, Craig Somerville AIMM and Rebecca Bell AFAIM.

The trip reflects a key component of the AIM five-pillar strategy, with its region serving focus. It also gives the seven-person board a platform to promote the Institute throughout one of its key demographics.

The YMAB was established in April last year to provide advice and counsel to the AIM Board on issues that are relevant to the development of young managers.

Since its inception, the YMAB has conducted meetings in Cairns, Toowoomba, Gympie and Brisbane but the Darwin mission will be its first foray outside Queensland.

Darwin has strong representation on the YMAB through Lia Finocchiaro AIMM, a Northern Territory local, who was elected as the local member for the seat of Drysdale in September last year.

Accompanying the YMAB to Darwin will be AIM Chief Executive Officer Vivienne Anthon FAIM and AIM Directors John Cotter FAIM and David Conry FAIM.

Ms Anthon said the Darwin trip was an opportunity for the YMAB to network with the Territory's best young managers and to learn first hand of their managerial needs.

"The work of the YMAB has focused on what young managers require as they begin their careers," she said. "The YMAB delibertations have included membership services, networking, learning and stereotypes and their convesations have been insightful.

"The YMAB understand what the younger demographic want out of the profession of management."

The visit will coincide with a range of events including a reception at Parliament House and a presentation by international author and speaker Devora Zack.

For more on the YMAB, its members and its activities and opportunities, visit www.aimqld.com.au/ymab.


Young Manager Advisory Board