AIM Members Acknowledged

AIM celebrates the vast and varied contribution made by members and how they shape their Institute.

As part of AIM's 60th anniversary activities, Agenda has compiled a Member Timeline featuring managers who have been members from one to sixty years. There are also special pieces showcasing the 'Faces of AIM' and the ways in which members contribute to the vibrant life of the Institute.

Members will gather to mark the diamond anniversary of the Institute at a special function on Tuesday 26 July 2011 at Management House, Spring Hill.

The celebration will be filled with history and stories of the Institute.

Guests will include members from around Queensland and the Northern Territory including past AIM Chairmen and Presidents, and longstanding and outstanding members.

Among those to be acknowledged will be one of the four members of the 60+ years club, Ted Milliken AFAIM.

Mr Milliken joined the Institute in October of 1951 while working as a psychologist for the Commonwealth Employment Service in Brisbane. He relocated to the Northern Territory in 1955 to work as Research Director in the Welfare Division.

In 1974, Mr Milliken became Senior Lecturer in Psychology and Head of Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Darwin Community College (now Charles Darwin University). From 1984 to the present day he has worked as a private consulting psychologist.

Mr Milliken was excited about his invitation to the celebration and the opportunity to contribute.

New Chairman Announced

Members of the Institute gathered at the Annual General Meeting on Tuesday 24 May 2011 to learn of the Institute's 2010 performance and initiatives.

The meeting was the last official duty for outgoing Chairman, Mr Wayne Patterson FAIM.

At the Board meeting held after the AGM, Mr Grant Dearlove FAIM was elected as Chairman of the Board of the Australian Institute of Management - Qld & NT.

Mr Dearlove has almost two decades experience as a litigation lawyer as well as a successful track record in business management. He is the former Managing Director of Colliers International's residential business in Australia, which included the PRDnationwide franchise network. He has spent his working life in the area of professional service and has studied leadership of professional service organisations at Harvard University.

Mr Dearlove has also undertaken private business consultancy for a number of professional firms focused on strategic direction and growth spanning real estate, property finance, construction and risk.

He has been a Director of the Institute for 4 years.

2011 Directors
Grant Dearlove FAIM, Chairman
Mike O'Hagain FAIM, Deputy Chairman
Bob Bishop FAIM
Julie Boyd FAIM
Helen Brodie FAIM
Tracy Dare FAIM

Regional Chairs
Sunshine Coast - Rob Dunbar FAIM
Toowoomba - Tim Wilkie FAIM
Gladstone - Ray Johnston FAIM
Rockhampton - Vacant
Mackay - Julie Boyd FAIM
Townsville - Rabieh Krayem FAIM
Cairns - Graham Caldwell FAIM

Northern Territory Council
Ross Bradford FAIM