AIM Unveils Queensland's Top Managers

The 2010 winners of Queensland's most prestigious management awards were announced to Brisbane's business community at a Gala Dinner presented by the Australian Institute of Management – Qld & NT on Friday 12 November.

For more than a decade, the Management Excellence Awards has recognised exceptional men and women from business, industry and government.

The 2010 Management Excellence Awards State winners are:

  • Professional Manager of the Year – Paul Francis, Heritage Building Society (Representing Toowoomba)
  • Owner Manager of the Year – Terri Irwin, Australia Zoo (Representing the Sunshine Coast)
  • Young Manager of the Year – Jarrah Finn, Mackay Youth Support Service Inc. (Representing Mackay)
  • Rural Remote Manager of the Year – Leon Yeatman, Yarrabah Shire Council (Representing Cairns)

(L to R) Jarrah Finn, Paul Francis, Leon Yeatman, Terri Irwin

The four winners won their respective categories after being named regional finalists earlier this year. Regional finals were held in Brisbane, Cairns, Gladstone, the Gold Coast, Mackay, Rockhampton, the Sunshine Coast, Toowoomba, and Townsville.

Chair of Management Excellence Awards, Anne Gately said the 2010 State Finalists were amongst the strongest group of candidates the Awards had ever seen.

"I know that the 2010 Management Excellence Awards will be remembered for the extraordinary strength and calibre of candidates from diverse regional centres across Queensland," she said.

"Practical, creative, 'down to earth' managers from across the State are the powerhouse driving the Management Excellence Awards. These individuals shape Queensland business and the local communities in which they live, and through the Awards, represent.

"The Management Excellence Awards are by no means 'Brisbane-centric'. The search for the State's best in 2010 led us to managers making significant contributions right across Queensland," Ms Gately said.

Paul Francis, General Manager Retail Services at Heritage Building Society, was recognised for his ability to manage and innovate in a large, member-based business. Leading a regional workforce in excess of 520 people through 59 branches, Paul fostered a culture of sales, coaching and leadership through open communication and strong reinforcement of the organisation's values of integrity, excellence and community.

Terri Irwin, Owner/Director of Australia Zoo, displayed a clear vision in making her organisation the ultimate, global zoological destination through working closely with all staff. Terri was instrumental in the development of the tourism and marketing strategy that saw Australia Zoo flourish, implementing a marketing department and driving marketing initiatives.

Young professional Jarrah Finn, Manager of the Mackay Youth Support Service Inc, found success in her management position by leveraging the strengths of those around her and accessing business mentors who reflected her values as a social worker. She implemented systems in finance, human resource management and quality assurance to increase organisational outputs and enhance the organisation's profile in the community.

Leon Yeatman, Chief Executive Officer of Yarrabah Shire Council, was singled out for his capability in leadership, strategy, people management and organisational culture in running the Indigenous local council for one of the largest Indigenous communities in Australia. As a strong community figure, Leon has led significant projects and social engagement activities with his 130 employees that have prepared Yarrabah and its 3,000 residents for a better future.

Tony Ellwood, Director of the Queensland Art Gallery was named the 2010 Medal for Management Innovation recipient. Conferred by the AIM board and sponsored by Griffith University, the Medal celebrates a Queensland leader who has demonstrated unwavering commitment to business growth through management innovation.

Nominations for 2011 are now open. Visit for more information.

For enquiries, please contact Tom Treby, Marketing and Content Coordinator on 07 3227 4849.